trying to use Git on my site

feburary 2, 2024


i do not know much about git. i have been coding for like 9 years now (and i still suck), and the only time i tried using it was so i could use github sites.
anyways, trying to figure out what pages i locally edited, and then copy pasting the code back into neocities was getting annoying. so i decided i wanted to try using git to make it easier. this is an archive of my thoughts while trying.

For this project I decided to use Mebiae's "11ty, GitHub and Neocities" blogpost. This was a really helpful resource. The only difference is that I am not using 11ty, because I'm too young and arrogant (reference) to learn anything new. Sorry.

Making a repository


So my first step was making a repository. This was the easiest part of the whole thing, for obvious reasons. I don't even think I needed to mention that I did this.

Setting up Files


This part was frustrating because I thought my computer was lying. When I went to learn my repository in VS:Code, the button to add a repository was just gone. Cool! So instead I downloaded Github Desktop. After getting everything loaded there, I clicked "Open in Visual Studio Code" just to get an error that Git wasn't installed. So I went to install Git, but when I clicked download, the installer file had (1) at the end of the file name. I still opened the installer, and when I selected the default folder, it told me that the folder already existed. So I MUST have Git installed!
Eventually, I got tired of troubleshooting VS:Code and just decided to look at the folder where Git was installed. Guess what I found? A single file: just give it up its over.txt. I have no memory of making that, but it definitely feels like something I would have made.
So it turned out, my computer wasn't lying. I installed Git, and then everything worked, wow!

Making Files


So now it was time to make the files. This part was really easy. However when I committed, nothing happened. At first it was because I forgot to add the API key, oops! I added that, and nothing still happened. I kept adding more and more changes, trying to make it work, but it never did. I was running out of time before work, so I made my last commit before work:

if this doesnt work im killing myself

wiichicken committed

I want to mention this commit is a joke, as I am still alive.

Why is Nothing Working?


So after accepting that it was not going to work because I was the one doing it, I just accepted defeat.
I was thankfully sent home early from work, so I had a little bit of free time. I decided to look at the site for the command, and it appeared that nothing worked because the Neocities API was down the entire time. Oops!

Fix it


As of me writing, the API is still down. This sucks, and I'm still waiting for it to come back up so I can start using Git control, because I'm very excited. Anyways, I don't have much else to say. If you liked this post, make sure to pin it to your Pinterest board of choice. Or don't, that's cool too.